Members

Janet Ahn

Research Interests:

  • The projection of explicit and and implicit goals
  • The social consequences of projecting goals (either cooperative or competitive)

E-Mail: janet.ahn@nyu.edu

 

Ana Gantman

Research Interests:

  • Conscious/nonconscious goal switching
  • Feelings of agency and unconscious goal pursuit
  • The explanatory vacuum in nonconsious goal-directed action

E-Mail:  agantman@nyu.edu



Katherine Reilly Thorson

Research Interests:

  • Relationship between self-regulation and emotion
  • Influences of emotion and stress on behavior
  • Self-regulation and psychophysiology

E-Mailkatherine.thorson@nyu.edu

 

Bryan Sim

Research Interests:

  • How does competition affect the way we set and pursue our goals?
  • What makes us compete, and when do we do it?
  • How are we affected, psychologically and socially, by competing?

E-Mail: bryan.sim@nyu.edu


Alex Wesnousky
aw

Research Interests:

  • Motivation and identity, especially in the context of maladaptive or negative identity labels.
  • How do disease labels and diagnoses influence regulatory thought and behavior, and how can they have both negative and positive consequences.

E-Mail: aew323@nyu.edu

 

Christina Crosby

Research Interests:

  • The gap that exists between behavioral intentions and actual behavior
  • The process of goal disengagement and how to keep people engaged to difficult, but important goals

E-Mail: christina.crosby@nyu.edu

 

John Sciarappo

Research Interests:

  • How self-regulatory strategies and mental simulations impact the cognitive structure of goal-systems
  • Facilitating the productive regulation of agency/authorship/control inference
  • When and how early-life conflict gives rise to maladaptive automatic goal-pursuit later in life

E-Mail: john.sciarappo@nyu.edu


Guests

Laure Freydefont
Sandra Wittleder

Alumni

Caterina C. Bulgarella
Anna Lisa Cohen
Kentaro Fujita
Heidi Grant Halvorson
Marlone D. Henderson
Heather Barry Kappes
Andreas Kappes 
Christie Kawada
Dan Kirk
Madoka Kumashiro
Sam Maglio
Elizabeth J. Parks-Stamm


 

 




Updated